About Us



Aylesbury Grammar School was founded as a ‘free school’ for local students. Our commitment to this foundation and our values of ‘respect and aspire’ will drive our developments over the coming years. 

Our strong sense of history is combined with a dynamic and exciting future. Our vision is to make the School an international leader in learning and pastoral care, providing an unparalleled breadth of opportunity. Our community will flourish in all they do through excellence, humility and positive relationships, making a positive contribution to society. 

Our strategic direction for the future will require dynamic leadership and innovative thinking. As we grow and develop, we will engage further with our community and would welcome your involvement in helping make our future a reality. 

The Governors of AGS are enthusiastic and committed, supporting the school and its leadership, regularly monitoring and providing challenge. They meet termly in committees and as a full Governing Body. The three sub committees of the Governing Body are Learning & Teaching, Community & Development, and Resources including Finance.

Members of the Academy Trust

  • Mr Mark Sturgeon (Headmaster), appointed 1 September 2014
  • Mr Richard Williams (Chairman of Governors), appointed 7 December 2018
  • Mr Kevin Hardern (Chairman of the AGS Foundation and Signatory to the Memorandum of Association), appointed 11 March 2011
  • Mrs Gillian M M Miscampbell, OBE (Signatory to the Memorandum of Association), appointed 11 March 2011
  • Mr John Cragg, appointed 12 October 2018

The Governors

Terms of office in brackets

The categories of Governors are as set out in the Articles of Association, except that where the Articles refer to Community Governors this shall be deemed to refer to Appointed Governors, who may be appointed by the Governing Body on the recommendation of the Chairman of Governors, the Chairman of the Foundation and the Headmaster.  Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body, only Governors not themselves appointed a Co-opted Governor may cast a vote, Parent Governors are appointed by the Parents or Guardians of register pupils and Staff Governors are appointed by members of staff.

  • Mr Richard Williams – Chairman of Governors; Appointed Governor (7 Jul 2017 to 7 Jul 2021)
  • Mr Kevin Amor – Parent Governor (5 Dec 2018 to 4 Dec 2022)
  • Mrs Hannah Birch – Appointed Governor (22 Mar 2019 – resigned 1 Jul 2020)
  • Mr Paul Bown – Foundation Governor (17 Jan 2020 to 16 Jan 2024)
  • Mr Michael Brock – Co-Opted Governor (23 Mar 2018 to 22 Mar 2022)
  • Wing Commander Lee Cobley – Foundation Governor (1 Jul 2020 to 30 Sept 2024)
  • Mr Jim Collins – Foundation Governor (8 January 2021 to 8 January 2025)
  • Mrs Jo Dennis – Appointed Governor (23 Mar 2018 to 22 Mar 2022)
  • Mr Kevin Hardern – Foundation Governor (30 Jun 2017 to 29 Jun 2021)
  • Mr Chris King – Staff Governor (8 Dec 2017 to 7 Dec 2021)
  • Mr Yomi Odukoya – Parent Governor (5 Dec 2018 to 4 Dec 2022)
  • Mr Mark Sturgeon – Headmaster; Staff Governor
  • Mrs Andrea Ward – Co-opted Governor (4 Dec 2020 to 4 Dec 2024)
  • Mr Simon Winman – Co-opted Governor (08 Dec 2017 to 07 Dec 2021)
  • Ms Jo Moore – Appointed Governor (24 Jan 2020 to 23 Jan 2024)
  • Mr Neil Gibbs – Staff Governor (24 Jan 2020 to 23 Jan 2024)

Historic attendance of Governors at Full Governing Body meetings can be seen in our Statement of Accounts.


For further details of the AGS Governing Body, or for any queries, please contact the Clerk to the Governors at: ccobb@ags.bucks.sch.uk


AGS Learner

Our vision is to provide an exceptional education, rich in learning opportunities

Read More

PTA website

The PTA is a group of parents, who organise and run events, with the support of the school.

Read More

School Bookings

Now you can make bookings for Parents Evenings and school events that suit you.

Visit Website


Pay online for school uniforms and sports clothing, school dinners, trips and more.

Visit Website